Finalists for 2023 Financial Services Council industry awards announced

2 min read
July 25, 2023

The finalists for the Financial Services Council 2023 Awards, which recognise outstanding work in the New Zealand financial services sector, have been announced. 

2023 marks the introduction of two new categories, the Contribution to Community Award and Excellence in Sustainability Practices Award, which sit alongside six other categories. 

“We’ve received the most entries we’ve had in the last 5 years for our FSC Awards,” says CEO Richard Klipin.  

“It is heartening to see so much great work that the financial services sector has driven over the past year, and the efforts our peers have made to grow the financial confidence and wellbeing of New Zealanders.” 

“Making the decisions around the finalists were tough, and judging for the winners will be competitive. We thank everyone who has taken the time to submit an award nomination.” 

“We’d like to extend our congratulations to all of the finalists for their standout commitment and achievement, and look forward to announcing the winners at our Conference next month.” 

Award winners will be announced at the FSC Awards Dinner as part of the Building Consumer Confidence Conference on the 16th August at The Cordis Hotel, Auckland.  


FSC. Awards Finalists 2023 

Contribution to Community Award 

  • Crayon 
  • Mangere Budgeting Services 
  • Mercer NZ - The Table 
  • Te Ara Ahunga Ora Retirement Commission - Sorted Pacific Peoples Pathways to Homeownership 
  • Westpac NZ - Extra Care - New Start 
  • Whai Rawa - He Matapaki Mareikura 
  • YWCA Tāmaki Makaurau 

Emerging Trailblazer Award 

  • Angela Meyer, Mercer NZ 
  • Kavita Chetty, New Zealand Automobile Association 
  • Leigh Bennett, Fidelity Life Assurance Company 
  • Sam Kellar, Whai Rawa 

Excellence in Governance Award 

  • Compliance Refinery 
  • New Zealand Automobile Association 

Workplace Savings Award 

  • David Young, Maritime Retirement Scheme 
  • Mike Woodbury, Chapman Tripp 

Excellence in Sustainability Practices Award 

  • AIA New Zealand - ESG Strategy 
  • BT Funds Management - Sustainable Investment Policy 

Excellence in Wellbeing & Inclusion Award 

  • AIA New Zealand – Whai Ora 
  • Kernel 
  • Mosaic FSI 
  • Public Trust 
  • SHIFT Advisory Ltd and SHIFT Compliance Ltd 

Team of the Year Award 

  • AIA New Zealand – Customer Digital Team 
  • Employee Benefits Team – Aon Life, Health and Benefits 
  • Digital Transformation Project Team – Generate KiwiSaver 
  • Claims Team – Asteron Life 
  • Operations Team – Kernel 
  • The Table – Mercer New Zealand 
  • Police Health Plan Claims Team – New Zealand Police Association 
  • Whai Rawa  

Chairman’s Award for Service to the Industry 

  • Doune Connett, AIA New Zealand 
  • Naomi Ballantyne, Partners Life  


Notes for Editors: 

FSC. Conference Media Registration: 

Media can register to attend the FSC. Conference here. 

For more information, please contact  

For all media enquiries, please contact: 

New Zealand:  

Financial Services Council
09 8021532 or